Japanese | English  
Wheat Taxonomy

Wheat Taxonomy

Classification of Aegilops according to Witcombe 1983.

The Witcombe classification [reference] was published by Biodiversity International (formerly the International Plant Genetic Resources Institute (IPGRI) and the International Board for Plant Genetic Resources (IBPGR)) as a guide for germ plasm work. It is presented here with corrections in nomenclature and authority citations.

Aegilops L.

Section Comopyrum (Jaub. & Spach) Zhuk.
Aegilops comosa Sibth & Sm.
Aegilops uniaristata Vis.
Section Cylindropyrum (Jaub. & Spach) Zhuk.
Aegilops caudata L.
Aegilops cylindrica Host
Section Aegilops
Aegilops columnaris Zhuk.
Aegilops kotschyi Boiss.
Aegilops lorentii Hochst.
Aegilops ovata L.
Aegilops triaristata Willd. (4x and 6x)
Aegilops triuncialis L.
Aegilops umbellulata Zhuk.
Aegilops peregrina (Hackel in J.Fraser) Maire & Weiller
Section Sitopsis (Jaub. & Spach) Zhuk.
Aegilops bicornis (Forsskål) Jaub. & Spach.
Aegilops ligustica (Savig.) Cosson
Aegilops longissima (Schweinf. & Muschl. in Muschl.) Eig
Aegilops sharonensis Eig
Aegilops speltoides Tausch
Aegilops searsii Feldman & Kislev ex Hammer
Section Vertebrata Zhuk.
Aegilops crassa Boiss. (4x and 6x)
Aegilops juvenalis (Thell.) Eig
Aegilops squarrosa L.
Aegilops vavilovii (Zhuk.) Chennav.
Aegilops ventricosa Tausch
Section Amblyopyrum (Jaub. & Spach) Eig
Aegilops mutica Boiss.