Japanese | English  
Wheat Taxonomy

Wheat Taxonomy

Classification of Aegilops according to Kihara 1954, with nomenclatural corrections.

Kihara [reference] structured his classification as a genomic treatment with species arranged in genome clusters corresponding to sectional divisions. His treatment largely follows the earlier morphologically based classification of Eig. The Kihara classificiation is presented here for its historical value with the currently used genome symbols and corrections in authority citations.

Aegilops L.

Section Polyeides Zhuk. [U genome cluster]
Aegilemma biuncialis Vis.
Aegilemma columnaris Zhuk.
Aegilops ovata L.
Aegilops triaristata Willd. (4x and 6x)
Aegilopodes triuncialis (L.) Á. Löve
Aegilops umbellulata Zhuk.
Aegilops variabilis Eig.
Section Comopyrum (Jaub. & Spach) Zhuk. [M and N genomes]
Aegilops comosa Sm. in Sibth. & Sm.
Aegilops uniaristata Vis.
Section Cylindropyrum (Jaub. & Spach) Zhuk. [C genome cluster]
Aegilops caudata L.
Aegilops cylindrica Host
Section Sitopsis (Jaub. & Spach) Zhuk. [S genome cluster]
Aegilops bicornis (Forsskål) Jaub. & Spach
Aegilops longissima Schweinf. & Muschl. in Muschl.
Aegilops speltoides Tausch
Section Vertebrata Zhuk. [D genome cluster]
Aegilops crassa Boiss. (4x and 6x)
Aegilops juvenalis (Thell). Eig
Aegilops squarrosa L.
Aegilops ventricosa Tausch
Genus Amblyopyrum (Jaub. & Spach) Eig [T genome]
Aegilops mutica Boiss.